Fun Run Logo    

Fun Run image

The Fun Run will be at North Hillsborough Elementary School on Sunday, June 1, 2014! Please join us for a fun (or serious) 10K, 5K, and Lakas Shimizu Memorial 2K run/walk, and enjoy great music and pancakes afterward. Medals are given to the top runners (see last year's results and see this year's results when the race is completed), and prizes are awarded to participants in the best costumes! It's a great time to exercise, celebrate the end of the school year, and support our Hillsborough public schools. View the Fun Run Info Sheet.

Schedule and Fees

7:00am Race day registration, bib, and T-shirt pick-up
7:30am Stretch/Warm-up
8:00am 2K, 5K, 10K start on Eucalyptus Avenue
8:30am Pancake breakfast
9:30am Awards ceremony

$35 - Early Bird Registration* (via online registration or in-person at A Runner's Mind in Burlingame - details below)
$40 - Race Day Registration* - cash, credit cards, and checks accepted

    * Registration fee includes T-shirt and breakfast. Participants using jogging strollers/wheelchairs may register as a single runner, and will be entitled to receive one bib, one T-shirt, and one breakfast.

$5 - Pancake breakfast for those not racing (pancakes, fruit, Hobee's coffeecake)

New This Year - Packet Pickup

Packet Pickup will be on Saturday, May 31 from 10:30-3:30 at A Runner's Mind in Burlingame (1199 Howard Avenue, Suite 101 - see map).

  • If you registered online, you may pick up your bib and T-shirt before race day.
  • You can register in person, and pick up your bib and T-shirt before race day. (There will be no in-person registration at the HSF office.)

Awards and Results

The race is professionally timed by Capital Road Race Management (using ChronoTrack chip-timing technology); the race results will be posted here! All 2K runners will receive ribbons. For the 5K and 10K races, medals will be given to the top thee male and female finishers in each age division.

    Age Divisions - 8 & under, 9-10, 11-12, 13-14, 15-19, 20-29, 30-39, 40-49, 50-59, 60-69, 70+

    The James H. Whittam Award - will be presented to the 10K first place boy and girl (under 18 yr. old) finisher. Only current HCSD students or graduates of Crocker Middle School are eligible.

    Prizes - Prizes for most spirited team, and best costumes. Be creative - grab your friends and show your spirit!

Course Location/Parking/Overview

The race begins at 545 Eucalyptus Avenue in front of North Hillsborough School (see map). Please park on the blacktop at Crocker Middle School at 2600 Ralston Avenue (see map). (Eucalyptus Avenue will be closed between New Place Road and Barroilhet Avenue.) Carpooling is encouraged.

At North Hillsborough School, runners may register on race day, get their race bibs, T-shirts, etc. All races start on Eucalyptus Avenue (in front of the school): 5K and 10K begin at 8am, 2K runners begin immediately afterward. Fun Run volunteers will be present on the routes to guide runners, help quench their thirst (water provided), cheer them on, and make them laugh. A First-Aid Station will be located throughout the course, and at the Finish Line.

Sorry - NO Skateboards, Bikes, Roller Skates, or Pets Allowed on the Fields, Tennis Courts, or Fun Run Courses. Jogging strollers and wheelchairs are welcome on all courses!

Lakas Shimizu Memorial 2K (Run/Walk) - This course encourages our youngest community members to participate! Young children must be accompanied by an adult. Warm-up will be held on the North School field at 7:30am. The run finishes at the North School playground.

5K Course (Run/Walk) - This course winds its way through the beautiful tree-lined streets of North Hillsborough, and finishes at the North School playground.

10K Challenge Course (Run) - This course offers a more challenging race. It begins along the 5K Course, but breaks away at the 3 mile marker for a partial loop, before ascending up New Place Road at the 5 mile marker. Once runners have reached the top, they have a fast descent down to the finish line at the North School playground.

Course Maps

Click on the maps below to get an interactive look at the routes...

2K Course (Out and Back)

2k Course

5K (Loop)

2k Course

10K Overview (i.e., the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd Leg)

10K 1st leg map - 10K 2nd leg map - 10K 3rd leg map
10k Course

Volunteer Opportunities

Please join us! To keep the Fun Run successful and FUN, parents, students, and community members are needed to help with registration, to monitor the race course, serve breakfast, and cheer for the race participants, etc. No experience is necessary! Please click here to volunteer!

For information or questions contact:
The Fun Run Co-Chairs at